Buttonhole Bar Stitch

Just in time before the next stitch is announced, I have completed my weekly stitch challenge for Take a Stitch Tuesday, buttonhole bar stitch. I’ve used this stitch before in clothing construction. It makes a good, strong thread chain for loosely attaching the bottoms of skirt linings to skirts or for small belt carrier loops. It’s one my mom taught me years ago. I’ve never used it as an embroidered embellishment until now. That part is new. I started with a scrap of needle felt and made random loops in  pearl cotton 5.buttonhole bar loopsThen I laced and looped sari silk yarn through the bars for lots of added texture.laced buttonhole barAren’t the colors yummy?buttonhole bar close up

This entry was posted in embroidery, felt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Buttonhole Bar Stitch

  1. Queeniepatch says:

    Both colours and stitches are yummy!

Leave a comment