Back to Doll Making

Can you believe it’s been 18 months since I’ve last made a doll? I’ve had so much fun in the last year with embroidery and felt, but lately I’ve been itching to create a doll. It’s been in the back of my mind. Plotting and planning what she would look like. Would she be like a play doll or a collector’s doll? Would she have joints or be in a fixed pose? Well I’d been thinking long enough and it was time to make a doll.

I have one started. Her body is complete now, but she has no clothes. So be prepared for some nakedness.

DSCN2428She has enough joints to allow sitting comfortably.

And an appliqued face:

DSCN2433The whites of her eyes measure 1/4″ across. That’s some tiny little applique pieces! I love the look of the applique. It’s a lot of work though. Next time I’ll experiment with a painted face which will be much quicker and easier. This doll needed a folk-like look and the applique is perfect for that.

This little lovey is going to be a surprise for a friend, so I can’t say anything more about her future just yet. Stay tuned!

This entry was posted in applique, cloth doll and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back to Doll Making

  1. alison cook says:

    your faces and hands and toes are AMAZING!! and the rest of the doll is pretty fantastic also!

  2. I’m impressed with the fingers and toes, too – exquisitely neat and dainty!

  3. nita butler says:

    It is going to be another hit! like it very much!

Leave a Reply

