New Life for an Old Jacket

Deep in the back of my closet was an 1980s relic. An old jacket that hadn’t been worn in many, many years. The problem with it was a noisy lining. Imagine the crisp, crunching of a nylon windbreaker. The nylon lining had gotten stiffer and more uncomfortable with time and I quit wearing the jacket. It was too cute to get rid of, so I kept it. Looking at it now with fresh eyes, I decide it was time to find a fix and wear that jacket again. All it needed was a new lining.

I had some large scraps of very lightweight silk from one of my past grab-bag purchases at the quilt festival in Houston. There were three pieces of the same print. The print is so large scale, yet it works fine in my lining. There was just enough to make the whole lining.

??????????Ripping out the old lining was pretty easy and, when taken apart, made a good pattern for the new lining. I was able to sew it up without any problems. I used a variation of the “bagging method” which involves machine sewing the lining in place all around and also at the sleeve hems. You end up with an opening in the lining side seam through which it all gets turned. Threads magazine has a decent tutorial here. My variation was because the facing on this jacket was already attached to the outer part and the bagging method specifies stitching it to the lining. Instead, I sewed the lining upper edge to the facing, stopping a couple of inches before the bottom hem. The lower edges are then stitched together. The openings at the bottom corners can be handsewn afterwards as is the side seam that was kept open for turning.

Isn’t it funny how some of the fabric pattern matches up? It is purely by accident. There was no extra fabric for any matching of lines. I kept the content/cleaning instruction tag in place in the side seam. It may come in handy later.

??????????I can’t wait to wear this.

??????????Notice the scarf buckle? It is an old bakelite buckle that I had in my stash. It was given to me by a friend. It’s kind of chunky, but I like it.

??????????

This entry was posted in clothing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Life for an Old Jacket

  1. Great idea. When the outside is still good, a new lining is worth every penny, ten times over!

  2. alison cook says:

    WOW! that looks FABULOUS!

  3. Mary says:

    Nice jacket, which deserved a new lining! I love the buckle.

  4. Dee Dee says:

    Excellent! I love the new lining, serendipity lines and all! And Martha also did a fine job…

Leave a Reply

