Work Pants

When school began in August, I decided to make some cute yet comfy pants to wear to work. As a pediatric therapist, I spend a good bit of time moving around and even sitting on the floor with the children. I want to look nice, but I can’t be constricted. What I need is some yoga pants that look professional, nothing too tight, and definitely with pockets. The best way to get what I want is to sew it myself. Usually. JoAnn’s has a nice, heavy poly/Lycra knit in a bottom weight. They call it jeggings fabric. I’m not sure why; it isn’t jeans fabric in any form. I bought some and made these pants. It sewed up beautifully. In fact, I loved it so much, I went back and bought more in gray.

I don’t ever wear these with the top tucked in. I just wanted to show the waistband and pocket detailing. The pants have a curved waistband with 1″ wide elastic, no zipper.

??????????

The gray pants are cute too. Both are exactly the same and perfect for work.

??????????

This entry was posted in clothing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Work Pants

  1. TinLizzie72 says:

    Cute! What’s it like to sew? I’m still pretty novice with knits, and am always looking for advice. Did you use a serger?

  2. I don’t own a serger and have never used one. From what I hear, they do make knit sewing easier. That said, this particular knit was not hard to sew. I used 3/8″ seams and an overlock stitch on my machine to finish the edges. The fabric is Sew Classic bottom weight knits. Looking online, I see that it has rayon in it as well as the polyester and spandex. Because of its thick texture it handled very well in my machine; no slipping or bunching. It is stretchy. I was concerned that the pocket would stretch out, but it didn’t. It sewed great and held its shape perfectly. That’s the spandex helping there. I used a regular stretch needle for the seams and a double stretch needle to stitch the hem. Give the fabric a try. You will like it.

  3. joyce Bannon says:

    Is the pattern you used a uniform or what pattern did you use. Looks great and sound like they feel great also

  4. It’s a modification of my personal basic pants pattern, not a commercial one. Once I have a pattern that fits, I use it over and over with various changes for different styles.

  5. It’s almost always easier to make something to suit your particular requirements than to plod around town trying to find them off-the-peg, isn’t it!

  6. Mary says:

    This is my uniform also…I used Kwik Sew 3115 for my recent pair. I love your grey pants especially.

Leave a Reply

