Church Banners Again

I don’t like to always make the same things. I like a lot of variety. Most everything I do does involve fabric or stitching, but I don’t like to stick to only one type of fiber work. Cloth dolls will always be my favorite and yet I have to do other things too. My latest project is pretty far from the cloth doll spectrum. I’ve just finished two more church banners. It’s been a while since I’ve made any, so I was glad to have the chance to make more. These were especially fun because they involved new designs.

These banners are large. 42″ x 120″ That’s 10 feet long. I have to make them on my living room floor. Finding a place to take pictures is a challenge, too. It was a breezy day, but the rain did hold off long enough to get some shots in.

??????????Doves of Peace

??????????Grapes and Wheat

??????????The grapes are made of four different purple fabrics, plus two more for the highlights and shadow lines.

These banners were commissioned for the new series of televised masses at Thesundaymass.org to be taped in the fall. Some of my previous banners can be seen on that website featured in some of the masses.

This entry was posted in church banners and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Church Banners Again

  1. Gorgeous! I like the effect of the strip patchwork backgrounds.

  2. Dianne says:

    I wondered who had done “Sacred Waters.” I get to see it whenever I participate in Mass online. Your banners are beautiful and inspiring.

  3. The patchwork strips give a stained-glass impression and are a very nice complement to the designs!

  4. Regina Folse says:

    The banners are magnificent! As I browse your blog, I find inspiration. Your art is very inspiring. Now I just need the time to create.

Leave a Reply

