Embroidered Animals

I haven’t been writing much lately; however, I’ve still been stitching, even if only for a bit at a time. So now I have pictures of three animals, four really since there are two penguins, to share. These are destined to be used as appliques on my Australia embroidery. They are all sketched from photos taken on our travels in Australia this past summer. First is the kangaroo.

kangarooI’m not too sure that I like this one.

Next are the penguins.

penguinsI’m happier with these.

And then there’s the emu. He’s my favorite.

emuAfter finishing the penguins, I realized that turned applique around the legs will be tight, so I made the emu’s legs separately.

I haven’t started the actual stitching for the wall hanging, as I was waiting to see what I thought after the animals were done. I’m glad I did hold off because my original plans for the background fabric did not look good with them. I’ve pulled and stacked some alternative fabrics and am thinking about my options. In the meantime, I’ll work on another something that I’ve been thinking about. I do like to have more than one project in progress.

This entry was posted in applique, embroidery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Embroidered Animals

  1. When you are making it up as you go along, it very helpful to have more than one project so that you can put one to one side while you think about it – or stare at it thoughtfully – but still have something to do!

  2. Dee Dee says:

    I love all of these!

Leave a Reply

