Create-a-Critter

Every summer I teach sewing lessons to children. I call it Creative Sewing Camp. At the first camp back in 2001, the students each made a rag doll from my pattern. Over the next years they made fairies, mermaids, hobbits, dragons, and even designed their own dolls. In 2006, I added a fashion sewing class which later evolved into a chose your own project class. I’ve missed the dolls.

This year I am going back to how it all began and will have a class devoted to stuffed animals and monsters. Two of the classes will be the usual clothing class, but one week will be Create-a-Critter. I’ve had so much fun working out the patterns and stitching them up. I can’t wait to see how the kids like them! I’m hoping the monsters will entice some boys into taking the class this year. I haven’t had a male student since the very first year. Sewing is such a great skill to have for everyone, not just the females.

What do you think?

critter 1critter 2critter 3critter 4If I had put some teeth on the frog, he’d be a vampire frog! I think the monsters are my favorites. I especially love the bug-eyed one.

Students will make at least one in each of the first three groups. The frog is for fast students with some experience. It has a zipper and bottom gusset, but is not too hard. The critters range in size from 6-9 inches tall. Which will you chose?

This entry was posted in cloth animals, cloth doll and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Create-a-Critter

  1. ladyfleur says:

    I love them all! I would probably make the three in the second photo, and then move on to the frog. The tongue and zipper mouth cracks me up.

  2. When I was sketching, and I have to confess that Burton was my big helper here, we came up with lots of different animals besides the three in the second photo. There was also a cat, pig, penguin, dog, and rabbit. It was hard choosing.

  3. nita says:

    Oh My! I love all the critters! They are all so cute. Wish I could come play too! i admire you for teaching the children to sew.It is something that comes in handy through life.

  4. They certainly remind me of some things I made myself when I was young!

Leave a Reply

