The Good and the Bad with Knits

Just when I think I’m back in sewing mode, I hit a bump. I’ve finished up two new knit tops. The first one is a winner; the second, not so much. Isn’t that the way it sometimes works out? Many of the sewers I know no longer make clothing because so often projects come up short. Even with a pattern you’ve used before, a different fabric may end up drastically and disastrously different. This first top was super quick to make and really nice to wear. It is flattering and comfortable. I love it.

DSCN0362I like the weighty feel of this knit. It came from Joann’s and was easy to sew. The pattern is my new favorite, the dolman sleeve that I’ve used twice before.

DSCN0351This top is so saggy and sad looking. I didn’t realize how soft and stretchy the fabric was. It has a lot of drape, hence my use of the gathering at the side. That couldn’t counter the total weight of the fabric and as a result, it looks too stretched out. And this is a pattern I had found to be a little tight!

Despite my 50% success rate, I’m glad I made both of these. Cold weather is on its way out for Louisiana and my chances to wear either are numbered for this season. It will have to be spring and summer wear next time, but I may wait awhile before I attempt more clothing.

This entry was posted in clothing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

