Old News

I am way overdue for some creative stitching. December was spent making a few Christmas gifts. January, in contrast, has been time off or more accurately, time out. I have been having trouble getting started back into any of my stitching projects. Martha got the flu in the middle of moving from one apartment to another. Burton and I were helping her with the move, so we brought her home for a few days to recuperate. Then Burton ended up with the flu. Somehow I managed to stay well while nursing both of them. But I’ve just felt so worn out, unable to step foot into my studio, or even keep up with my blog. This morning I decided it was time to get busy again.

Time for some pictures that I haven’t shared yet of Christmas gifts from the past holiday season. I made a few potholders for friends.

owl potholdersThese cute little owls are machine appliqued on the front with satin stitches.

And these monster pincushions are for two of my children, Matt and Martha.

monster pincushionsMatt has recently bought his own sewing machine and is doing more than altering his clothing. Back in September he wrote a guest post for me here. Martha already has a pincushion from me, but I figured she could use another since she sews so much. They were both well received. For Alison, my other daughter, I quilted a lap quilt that she had chosen from my mom’s stack of quilt tops. If only I had remembered to take a picture of it before she left after Christmas! So no picture there; sorry.

I do have more stitching in the works and should have more to share soon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Old News

  1. Julie Gausvik says:

    LOVE the monsters!!! Julie

  2. Sounds to me as though a continuing rest would be a good idea… Hope you feel better soon.

  3. Jeannette says:

    Just love the owl potholders! What a great pattern and the materials you chose are so colourful and cheery. Anyone would be delighted to use them. Fun looking monster pincushions too πŸ™‚

  4. alison cook says:

    I LOVE those pin cushions – they would make me smile every time I sat down to sew.

Leave a Reply

