Happy New Year to All

Here I am, back again, after more than a month of neglecting my blog and my faithful readers and friends. Somehow I let all the problems in life take over and keep me away from writing. Sorry for that. Now a new year has begun and I can start again with new resolve to share online again. In the next few days, I’ll post about the Christmas gifts that I made, or at least those I remembered to photograph, and also pictures of the queen size bed quilt that I finished just before Christmas.

The New Year is a good time to plan for the future, and it is a good time to look back at the past. Having a blog makes it easy for me to see just what I have accomplished. Looking back at a year of blog posts, this is what I found:

13 garments

8 sewing crafts ( purse, pillows, potholders)

9 dolls, 5 spirit figures and 4 traditional

3 creatures

4 embroidery projects, including 24 TAST stitches

5 quilting projects, large and small

1 hooked rug pillow

1 dream journal page, plus binding the journal

I am surprised by the totals. That’s more garments than I’ve made in a while and not as many dolls. Yet it is more dolls than I thought I had made. I have done a lot more practical sewing and not as much artistic stitching. Practical is good, yet I really want to explore new areas of expression. I want to try new ways of putting thread on fabric; new ways of putting fabric on fabric. New ways of Playing with Stitching. I have lists of things that need to be sewn, stacks of things that ought to be stitched, bins of fabric bits that are calling my name. There are so many ideas and inspirations that it’s hard to get started sometimes. So I’ll begin again with just one simple stitch, and then another, and then another.

Thank you for taking the journey with me.

Happy New Year to all of you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy New Year to All

  1. Patricia McGregor says:

    I was looking at your blog and the wonderful dolls. Do you ever give lessons or have a ‘guide’ type of pattern for your Spirit dolls? They are something my family would treasure. Happy New Year. Patricia

    Sent from my iPad

  2. alison cook says:

    you’re putting me to shame! I’d better get busy!

  3. Jeannette says:

    Nice to read your recap of 2013 projects. Looking fwd to following along in 2014. Happy New Year to you as well 🙂

  4. linda Walker says:

    Wonderful, Lucy. You’ve accomplished so much, and produced so much beauty for the rest of us to enjoy as well! You’ve got fire within you.

Leave a Reply

