Free-form Quilting with Mom

Way back on Mother’s Day, I gave my mom a book by Rayna Gillman on free-form quilting. She’s been trying to use up some of the older scraps in her vast quilting stash and I thought this book might give her some new ideas. Since then she, my sister Carol, and I have been stripping scraps. We had fun following the book’s recommendations and sewing together strips in random fashion. We pooled our first bits to make one larger piece, about lap quilt size. Then we each started on another. Mine is not surprisingly the smallest and the last to be finished. I only worked on it while the three of us were together at Mom’s and not too often at that. But now it is done and in use by my cat Venus. She likes to sleep on the pillows in the window of the family room. If she didn’t leave behind so much cat hair, it wouldn’t be a problem, but she does. To make it easy to keep the pillows clean, I’ve made her a cat blanket that is easily washed and keeps cat hair off the pillow.

cat blanketSee how much she loves it!

These rows of strips should have been quick and easy work. This is not my usual style of stitching and it took me way longer than it should have.

DSCN0050Putting them together like a puzzle was the fun part.

DSCN0148

Free-motion quilting on a small scale like this is quite fun. Quilting on the lap size quilts was way harder. The larger ones are so heavy and difficult to move under the machine. Next up, I’ll be quilting a full size bed quilt that Mom pieced and gave to me two years ago. It’s going to be a huge job to quilt it and I haven’t wanted to tackle it until now. It will take a fair amount of planning to get it started and going smoothly. Now, it’s time has finally arrived. I think I am ready. I just hope to get it finished before Christmas with my sanity intact.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Free-form Quilting with Mom

  1. nita says:

    love the randomness of the piece and love the colors and your kitty looks very pretty on it!

  2. alison cook says:

    that looks like one happy cat to have her own special quilt! and such a beautiful one, at that!

  3. Good luck with the big project. A good idea to have a smaller piece as a warm-up exercise!

  4. Iris Bodell says:

    What a great idea for using up “the stash”. I’m not too hot at the free-motion stitching but will give it a go and it will be a great learning curve for me. Christmas hols are coming up and that will be the time to “have a go”.

  5. Jeannette says:

    A wonderful and very colourful loooking quilt. Beautifully done!

Leave a Reply

