International Quilt Festival Plus More Goat!

Last week I traveled to Houston for the International Quilt Festival. Usually it’s not bad for a four hour drive. This year our driving day was plagued by a fierce thunderstorm from Beaumont to Houston. That made it all the better when we finally arrived at the convention center. As always, the displays were fabulous. Despite the title, not everything in the show was quilts. I even had two doll in the show. If only my pictures weren’t all blurry, I’d have some to share of some of the wonderful stitching I saw. One thing I noticed was that more and more of the pieces have embroidery and decorative stitching on them. That made them especially interesting to me.

Craftsy sponsored an Open Studio area with 4 different demos every two hours. It was situated at the far end of the exhibit hall, but I managed to swing by often to see what’s new. The two I liked best were on hand embroidery and machine embroidery. No surprise there. Catherine Redford  demonstrated her method of African folklore embroidery on Thursday and Liz Kettle talked about threads and technical help for free-form embroidery on Friday. The hand embroidery was especially interesting since I’m working right now on my goat and have a bigger embroidery in the works.

My goat project is coming along nicely. I’ve got the sun and sky stitched and all the embroidery is complete. The sun’s design echos the design on the goat. He is so richly decorated, the piece needed something with weight in the sky for balance.

DSCN0186

Now it is ready for the finishing. I think I will quilt it in a traditional manner with batting and a real binding just to see how I like that look.

This entry was posted in applique, embroidery. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to International Quilt Festival Plus More Goat!

  1. nita says:

    Love it and i think you balanced it perfectly!

  2. I think it did need some weight in the sky, but you’ve got it just right!

  3. Mary says:

    love this. Just plain love it.

Leave a Reply

