A New Embroidery Project

It’s been a while since I’ve embroidered and it’s long past overdue. I have been sewing, but not so much of the playful kind. I do have a couple of pairs of pants to make, but I need something more. Something to work on during quiet times at night. Something thoughtful. Something hand work. So I have started a new embroidery. For the background, I’ve hand stitched together some strips of batiks onto a base cloth of navy cotton. I like the navy for the borders, but next time I’ll use a lighter color directly under the strips. I’m not sure I like the way the navy darkens the lighter fabrics.

DSCN0045Inspired by some folk art goats that my mom and sister have been painting, I dug around in my sketchbook and came up with a sketch from the zoo that I like. It’s a mountain goat. A pretty simple gesture sketch, but one I like all the same.DSCN0061Using the goat on the left as a start, I’ve appliqued some shapes in fun colors. Don’t you just love a blue goat?

DSCN0063Although the background is stitched raw edges, the goat has turned under edges. I’m trying both to see which I like working with better. If I do as much embroidery as I think I may be doing, then the raw edges may be a better choice. We shall see.

This entry was posted in applique, embroidery. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A New Embroidery Project

  1. nita says:

    Love it so far!

  2. Mary says:

    This is stellar!

  3. Simple gesture sketches are probably the best ones to start with for an embroidery. The detail can then come from the stitchery.

  4. Dee Dee Wilbert says:

    This is so cool! Looking forward to seeing the progression…

Leave a Reply

