Treasures of the Gypsy Challenge Doll

I am currently working on a doll for the Treasures of the Gypsy Challenge.  It seems I’ve been working on this doll for the whole summer. That may be because my first attempt was such a disaster that I scrapped it entirely and had to begin anew. I had gone back to a style of doll that I used to make and had moved away from. She was a more traditional doll with a realistically proportioned, posed body and an armature. I hated her. Her body was nice; the shape was nice; her face was nice; I hated it all. I had no interest in clothing her or finishing her at all. I know I’ll never finish her and yet I can’t throw her out. She will go, naked, to live in a deep, dark corner of my closet in my box of body parts.

There remained, of course, the problem of what to do for the challenge. I would love to make a spirit figure for the show, but that glitzy, shiny fabric tells a different story. Then it hit me. I could use my Shakti pattern. Pamela, the owner of Treasures of the Gypsy, had asked me to make a sample doll for the pattern to display in her sales booth at shows. So this way I can make the one doll to serve two purposes: for the challenge exhibit and as a sample for her booth after the exhibit.

Here she is so far. Now, before she is dressed, is a good time to show what her unconventional body looks like. Her head isn’t even sewn on yet.

ShaktiThe blue fabric is part of the challenge pack. The green/gold body fabric and gold silk shantung are previous purchases from Pamela’s booth. Her clothing will use the other fabrics from the challenge pack.

Shakti 2and the back

Shakti 3Although Shakti is a stump doll, the pattern is more complex than most. The body shapes are unusual and sewn together differently from other pattens. After she has clothes on, she’ll look a little more conventional, but not quite. And that’s OK. Pamela calls this a “Buddha” pattern, so in a way, she is a spirit figure after all.

This entry was posted in cloth doll, spirit figure and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Treasures of the Gypsy Challenge Doll

  1. Yvonne Nathanson says:

    I’d love to have this pattern. Where can I get one? Thanks, Yvonne

    rtwontoo@mac.com

  2. alison cook says:

    she’s beautiful, as is!

  3. nita says:

    Great choice! She will be super and different than the run of the mill bodies! Cannot wait to see her finished!

  4. Nancy Powers says:

    I’m really attracted to her. She’s so different. I can’t imagine her not stealing the show. Pattern name please. She’s a keeper. Beautiful work!

  5. Pingback: A Doll Named Shakti | playfulstitching

Leave a Reply

