Another Upcycled T-Shirt Skirt

Susan, one of my four sisters, was here in Baton Rouge visiting out parents last week. On her last day here, she and Carol, my in-town-sister, and I decided to go to the giant thrift store across town. Susan likes to shop at thrift stores. She often finds some great clothes that she can tweak with a little bit of stitching. I don’t usually have her good luck or perhaps her good eye to see potential in row after row of clothing, but I was hoping to be inspired by her. Susan found an athletic wear top in bright pink and Carol bought a dress for each of her granddaughters. I found two pieces that I could use to refashion into a skirt. Some of Susan’s skill must have rubbed off on me.

I found the lace top first. At $1.99, the lace panel was clearly a bargain. But what could I do with it? If it were wide enough, I could put it at the hem of a skirt. If not, perhaps at the bottom of a different top. I looked through the men’s T shirts. This one in burnt orange caught my eye. It was nice and large and in really good shape. It must not have been worn much. Best of all it was $.99!

refashion 1After ripping off the lace, I pinned it to the bottom of a straight skirt in my closet and walked around a bit. Success! It was wide enough to walk in. From there it was easy. I cut two rectangles from the T the width of the doubled lace plus seam allowances x the length of the skirt plus 1 1/4″ for the elastic casing and 1/2″ hem. Two seams, an elastic casing, and hem later, I had a skirt. Not bad for $2.98.

refashion 2And the back view.

refashion 3For a peek at another upcycled T shirt skirt, check out this one from August of 2012.

This entry was posted in clothing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another Upcycled T-Shirt Skirt

  1. nita butler says:

    Very nice…and very creative. Love it!

  2. Dee Dee Wilbert says:

    Lucy, I am really enjoying all of your posts. So interesting, and fun to read and see!

  3. alison cook says:

    so COOL!!!

  4. That’s a great success – cheerful, and fun to wear!

Leave a Reply

