Felted Vessel

Does anyone remember the vessel from way back in March, seen here, that I started during the class with Sharon Costello? I’ve been working on it in bits and pieces, trying to figure out how to best embellish it. My tries with embroidery weren’t working out as I’d hoped. Eventually I settled for some couched fibers. The breakthrough occurred when I decided to use beads. I’m not much of a beader. I do like how beads look, but they don’t usually fit in with my vision or I don’t like how they are working. This time the beads did work well and I’ve got my vessel finished.

vesselThere is a cord running around middle of the vessel. It was added as part of the initial felt making process and placed between the silk cap that is on the outside and the outer layer of wool. I did some stitching to make it stand out more and not sink into the background.

vessel 2I let the cording determine the flow of the embellishments. The vessel is a flowing river at the center with an erupting volcano at the top.

vessel 3I used these teardrop pearls dyed a greenish bronze mixed with seed beads in gold and iridescent green to enhance and give depth to the couched yarns.

vessel 4

This entry was posted in beading, embroidery, felt and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Felted Vessel

  1. nita butler says:

    Wow…what a beautiful piece. The embellishment is perfect not over done, love the fibersand beadson the piece. Did I ever tell you that I love your style in all your work.

  2. Christine Lenz says:

    It’s absolutely gorgeous, I love it!!

  3. Rachel says:

    Simple and stunning!

  4. Queeniepatch says:

    The beads work well and I think you should be brave and use them on other pieces as well. I like looking at this vessel from every angle; seen from the top it reminds me of a bud on a poppy flower, on a side view you see the volcanic eruption and the flames…

  5. Humpbuckle says:

    Being a sci-fi fan (as well as a felt enthusiast) it reminds me a little of the eggs in Alien (although much more beautiful). Lovely work – the detail is wonderful. I have yet to try to make a vessel, perhaps I should have a go. 🙂

Leave a Reply

