Peasant Blouse

Last summer, while in Albuquerque, Burton and I stopped in at Nob Hill Fabrics. Fabric shopping is a part of vacationing that I always enjoy and that Burton tolerates well. I don’t always make a purchase, but sometimes I’ll find some fabric that I know I can use. On this particular trip I came home with a length of cotton lawn in a print of blue and green eccentric circles. The fabric was beautifully smooth and light weight, but not too sheer. There was only a small amount left. I bought the whole thing, end-of-the-bolt sale. There was just enough to make this peasant blouse.

peasant blouseI drafted the pattern for this top from my basic block. Converting to a raglan sleeve was not too difficult since I knew that there would be a lot of fullness and not too many fitting areas. Still, the decisions on where to cut off the neckline and top of the sleeves was tricky. Rather than make a muslin, I did a pattern fitting. It seemed to work, so I carried on. At first I was thinking of short sleeves, cute and puffy. But in the end I went with a longer length. This length will be good for the air conditioned schools where I work. I found the belt in the back of my closet. It is quite old. I used to wear it frequently. I’m not sure about the Western look, but I do like the color. This blouse will be cool and comfortable to wear.

This entry was posted in clothing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Peasant Blouse

  1. nita butler says:

    Very lovely. Love the design of the top and the print is perfect!

  2. sarah liz says:

    I didn’t even notice the western look of the belt – maybe if the blouse was in a plain colour it would be obvious, but not with this lovely pattern.

    The sleeves are just the right length- I think they look very elegant – and being lawn, still cool even in the warmer weather.

  3. Maryvonne says:

    It looks lovely. Wish I could turn out a blouse just like that. Thanks for sharing.

  4. It is amazing top! Great for summer and it suits you so well!

  5. Beverly says:

    Nice job! And it looks very pretty on you.

  6. Pingback: White Embroidered Peasant Blouse | playfulstitching

Leave a Reply

