More Summertime Fashion

Since I’m doing more and more clothing sewing, I’ve decided to join the 2013 Style the Stash Sew A Long. It’s a great community of stitchers dedicated to using up their stashes. Check out the blog to see what everyone has been sewing. My contribution for June was the navy batik dress with the bone buttons. This month I’ve started off with a couple of pairs of shorts for some more summertime fun in the sun. These are simple stitching with few to no details. No waistband, no pockets, no yoke, no topstitching; zippers are the only tricky element. I used invisible zippers which I find to be much easier to install than standard zippers.

beige shortsThese beige shorts have belt loops.

The black have none.black shortsThe top was a present from daughter Martha. She saw the fabric and knew I’d like it. She designed and sewed it just for me!

Both shorts are made of stretch twill. Total: 1 1/4 yards used from stash.

This entry was posted in clothing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to More Summertime Fashion

  1. Judy says:

    Such pretty shorts. I love the top your daughter did for you.. She did a great job on it. Happy sewing.

  2. alison cook says:

    you’ve sure got a talent for clothing – and everything looks great on you!

  3. I really like the style of the shorts. Did you use a pattern or draft them yourself?

    • They are my basic sloper pattern from “The New Magic-Fit Master Pattern”. I’ve used this sloper for 20 years at least. I don’t know if it’s still available. I’ve made plenty of variations over the years. My bodice sloper is not from this system. For that I used complicated measurements and plotted them out on paper. That worked better for me.

  4. sarah liz says:

    Hi Lucy – so that is the mystery of the pretty top – lucky you having a daughter who understands your tastes. The shorts are wonderful – must be faced, I would think. Simple sewing can be the most effective.

  5. alicecaboni says:

    Check out my blog to find out all about italian fashion! šŸ™‚
    http://aliceitalianfashion.wordpress.com

  6. Great clothing. I used to sew my own clothing but haven’t in a long time. Looking and reading your post makes me want to start sewing clothing again.

Leave a Reply

