Summertime Fashion Sewing

As the summer heats up, it’s time to make some cool clothes. In an effort to further deplete my stash, I have sewn up a lovely dark blue batik purchased last fall at the International Quilt Festival. In addition, there are three bone buttons on the front placket that came from a much earlier purchase there. I still have 7 buttons remaining, so they may show up elsewhere some time soon.

ImageI love this dress. It is the same pattern as this one I made last summer. I adjusted the skirt pattern from an A line to straight to accommodate the border print and added a false front placket because I wanted to adorn the dress with my buttons. The dress, like the original, has a side zipper for access. The back, with it’s cut out armholes and gathered bodice, is my favorite part. Altogether, it is a cool and comfortable dress.

Image

This entry was posted in clothing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Summertime Fashion Sewing

  1. Dianne Sahakian says:

    I think the dress you made is beautiful and love the fabric, Love and Hugs Dianne

  2. nita butler says:

    Beautifl dress. Love the print color and cut!

  3. Rachel says:

    I’m glad someone’s having a summer – I’m still in shirts and jumpers!

    It’s a pretty dress, too. Very much the sort one somehow feels all the better for wearing!

  4. Dee Dee Wilbert says:

    Beautiful dresses, both, Lucy! Is that pattern your design? I love the back details!

  5. Maryvonne says:

    Lovely dress. Looks very comfortable too. Wish I could sew like that, would makes things easier when choosing summer clothes.

  6. Judi W says:

    i so admire anyone who can make their own clothes! it came out lovely.

  7. Judith says:

    This is a great use of a border print fabric. You have designed a very stylish dress that fits you beautifully. Very flattering indeed!

  8. Beverly says:

    Love your dress; nice fabric & love your design too.

  9. sarah liz says:

    Hi Lucy – Not sure what happened to my first reply so I will do a second – just found my way to your blog, so I’ll have a look around – it’s always lovely to meet a new blogger. Your dress is superb.

  10. Lovely! Impressive design! I love the back top part of the dress! Great idea!

  11. TinLizzie72 says:

    Your sister pointed me to your blog, and just in time! I love this dress! I love the back detailing, and the fabric is gorgeous! I need inspiration to help me perfect my sewing skills, and you are going on the list! : ) Looking forward to seeing more of your creations.

Leave a Reply

