AFICC Report

Now that I’m home from Artistic Figures in Cloth and Clay and have had a chance to unwind and unpack, I want to say that it was a fabulous experience. From the hotel to the participants, everything was great.  Cyndy Sieving, the organizer of the entire event couldn’t have done a better job. My classes and all the events went off without a hitch. If only I had taken more pictures! When I got home, I realized I had taken only 9, total! And most of them weren’t any good, either out of focus or missing the moving target.

My first class on Friday morning was  Embroidered Faces from Ancient Sources. My intrepid students drew their own designs and plotted the stitches to use. They plunged willingly into almost blind contour sketching and were amazed at what they could draw. By the end of the afternoon, the embroideries were nearly complete.  I think they are wonderful.  I would have like to have kept them for myself!aficc classMy next class which I taught twice, Saturday and Sunday, was pattern design for cloth dolls. Unfortunately there are no pictures to share from either class. I guess I was too busy teaching to remember to take pictures.  I do know that the students learned a lot. The most frequent comments I heard were “Ah, so that’s how that is done” and “Now I’m not afraid to experiment.” That’s just what I like to hear as a teacher.  I like knowing that my students have the confidence in their own abilities, that they can create from their own imaginations. I am happy to report that, for me, AFICC was a success!

This entry was posted in cloth doll, embroidery and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to AFICC Report

  1. It sounds like you were having too much fun to take pictures, and that’s always a good sign, whether it is the teacher or the students!

  2. bonooobong says:

    breathtaking crafts, great job – big up!

  3. nita butler says:

    It was great to see you. I am hoping to be healthy enough to try and take classes at the next AFIC. Two of the students you had in the ebroidered face class were doll club members! Got to see their work up close and personal.

  4. Judi W says:

    It was a lot of fun and I was SO glad to finally meet you! I loved your class and can’t wait to experiment more. I just wish I had taken it earlier in the conference, by Sunday I was pretty brain dead, lol.

    • I know the feeling. I was a little brain dead too by the end of the last day. I’m glad you enjoyed the class. I was so pleased with all of my students. Amazing, every one of you. Send me pictures as you are working on you doll.

      > Date: Sun, 5 May 2013 04:56:54 +0000 > To: lucy_landry@hotmail.com >

Leave a Reply

