An Early Valentine

My latest project required a heart.  Out comes my stash of bits and pieces.  And there it is.  A hand marbled heart on silk charmeuse.  It’s  a small piece with four hearts on it.  I only need one.  I have had this for years and now I can use part of it.  A little bit of embroidery on a foundation of needle-felt and I’m off to a good start.

embroidered heartOutlining the heart in orange is Basque stitch, one I learned in the TAST challenge.  In the center in red is Portuguese knotted stem stitch.  I found it in my new book, Mary Thomas’s Dictionary of Embroidery Stitches.  I just bought it and already love it.  It’s a great reference for so many wonderful stitches.

Happy Valentines Day!

 

This entry was posted in applique, embroidery, felt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Early Valentine

  1. nita butler says:

    Very Very nice! You are so creative and i believe that you are a master of embroidery!

  2. Love the harmony of color!

Leave a Reply

