Dream Journal–Bound and Finished

Planning ahead is something I totally overdo with my dolls, not so much with the two dimensional stuff.  I often create  and then wonder what I’m going to do with it.  Especially the books.  Once I’ve gathered up some finished work and then decide it should be a book, then whoops I should have planned ahead for the binding and now how it will all go together?  That was my  dilemma with the dream journal pages.  I had left no room at all for attachment on any side of any of the pages.  Taking a little inspiration from Liz at Art, the Beautiful Metaphor, I’ve found a way to bind my journal.  Liz had stitched a row of blanket stitch on each page on the center edge and then braided the thread tails together.  It made a neat and functional binding.  Hand stitching was not an option for my book.  I had fused my pages back to back with Heat and Bond, a heavy fusible that is not easy to sew through even by machine.  I did not want to attempt any hand stitching.  What I did was the blind hem stitch from my machine.  I then threaded a narrow ribbon through a row of the sewn loops each page, down and then up again and knotted on the top.  It works perfectly.

dream journal coverThis page became the cover.

binding stitchingThis is the blind hem stitch done over the edge of the page.

ribbon bindingAll five pages are bound together with narrow ribbon.

open bindingThe journal opens flat, but stays together tightly with little shifting.

This entry was posted in art journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dream Journal–Bound and Finished

  1. Liz Adams says:

    Thanks so much for the shout out for my blog!!! much appreciated. As is your own bookbinding adventure! I like the solution you came up with.

  2. Jeannette says:

    Very nicely done and put together. Love the elephant dream journal page!

  3. Linda says:

    if I could let myself dream, I’d make something like this for Micaela!

Leave a Reply

