Buttonhole Eyelet Flower Stitch

It’s been a busy week for me.  Here I am practically at the last minute finishing this week’s Take a Stitch Tuesday Challenge.  But I do have  samples to share.

DSCN6612

I decided to use this stitch on fabric covered buttons. The dark green button was extra from a wool jacket I made for daughter Alison back when she was in high school.  There were two button forms left over, so I covered them with a cotton of pale green.  The buttons are 1 1/8″ in diameter and stitched with pearl cotton #8.

This stitch is a composite of a buttonhole wheel surrounded by bullion stitches to form the petals of the flower.  The first one is a basic wheel with five bullion petals.  For the other two, I stitched two buttonhole wheels, one on top of the other and then alternated three rows of bullion stitch.  These flowers have rows of six petals.  I’ve stitched the buttons in fabric and threads to match the face I created using the drizzle stitch found here.  I’m not at all sure what I’ll do with them just yet, but for now they grace my design board on my studio wall.

This entry was posted in embroidery. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Buttonhole Eyelet Flower Stitch

  1. Queeniepatch says:

    I am sure these beautiful buttons will adorn some projects in the future. It is nice to have things to use at a later stage.

  2. Jeannette says:

    Beautifully stitched button covers! Your bullion stitches are so nice and even around the buttonhole stitches.

Leave a Reply

