It’s not winter yet…

But I’ll be ready when it comes!  My new fleece jacket and hat are finished and ready to wear, just as soon as cold weather arrives.  The weather has gotten a little chilly so it won’t be too long.  Since I much prefer the heat of summer, I hope the cold weather holds off for a long time. For this jacket, I changed my basic pattern from set in sleeves to raglan and added a stand up collar and princess lines with an inseam pocket.

The fleece is very thick and squishy.  Rather than use it for the facings, I found a perfect flannel print at JoAnn’s.  It worked great on the front facing, inner collar, and pockets.

The spiral hat was inspired by a wool hat I saw in Paris back in 2005.  Alison was studying abroad that year and we went to go visit her at Thanksgiving.  The hat pattern is basically a circle cut into a spiral with an extension long enough to wind around the head almost twice.  It stitches together easily enough.  The tricky part is figuring out how much to ease the strips together.  That’s what determines the final shape.  I made a hat two years ago for my mom and hers came out more pointy on top.  This one has a flatter top.  I like the shape, but the hat is a little big for my head, especially with my shorter hair style.  I seem to disappear into the hat.  But it will be warm and that’s what I’m looking for.

This entry was posted in clothing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s not winter yet…

  1. Dianne Sahakian says:

    I think your two jackets turned out great and they also look great on you. The hat sure is nice and different. Hugs Dianne

  2. dot lewallen says:

    Oh I wish I could sew much better to have something so wonderfully unique to wear. Great colors too.

  3. It’s good to be prepared for the weather to turn – it already has, here!

  4. Jeannette says:

    Very, very nicely done jacket and hat. You must be so pleased with how they turned out!

Leave a Reply

