Knotted Loop Stitch

This week’s stitch for the weekly embroidery challenge Take a Stitch Tuesday is knotted loop stitch.  Since I’ve skipped over last week’s stitch, I’ll have to catch up with that one later.  This one appealed to me more.  In fact, I really liked the free form playfulness that the stitch allows.

I’ve got my sample stitched up on the spirit figure started with the knotted buttonhole.

The first row is a burnt orange.  The stitch is worked right to left, but I didn’t like the way the center line disappeared going downhill.

Second row is a dark brown.  This time I worked in mirror image from left to right and stitched uphill.  Somehow this worked better for me even though I’m right handed.  Go figure!

The final layer is a variegated pearl cotton in autumn colors.

This entry was posted in cloth doll, embroidery, spirit figure. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Knotted Loop Stitch

  1. Laurel says:

    Interesting. I’m wondering what this will become …

  2. leelagovind says:

    love this piece …very interesting!

  3. Jeannette says:

    Nice colours and stitching. They look great overlapped in such a free form.

Leave a Reply

