Birthday Card

My birthday was last week.  Yeah!  But what I want to share is a card I received from my son and his girlfriend.  The card is amazing.  Stephanie made it for me and I am thrilled.  Thanks Matt and Stephanie.

Stephanie found a pattern online and traced it out on vellum.  The vellum was placed over card stock and used to mark placement for the stitching holes.  She punched the holes with a pushpin and did the stitching with six strands of floss.  This is such a clever idea.  I love the sharpness of stitching on paper.  It holds its shape so well.  I may use this idea on a future Take a Stitch Tuesday.

This entry was posted in embroidery. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Birthday Card

  1. Rachel says:

    You have to be very careful with the tension when embroidering on paper, but it does create a very different effect, doesn’t it!

  2. Mosaic Magpie says:

    It sounds as though your son has a very sweet and caring girlfriend. It was nice she took the time and effort to make such a special card.
    Deb

  3. Jeannette says:

    Happy Belated Birthday and it is indeed a lovely card! I have often thought of making a card by punching holes and stitching through them but haven’t yet. Hope to soon though!

Leave a Reply

