Dream Journal

Sometimes a dream is so powerful, it stays with you for a long time.  This particular dream has been one that I’ve thought of many times.  Often I would get out my fabrics and play with ideas for a page in my journal, and the wisps of inspiration would evaporate like mists in the hot reality of a Louisiana summer.  Last week I played with this page with the thought of using the TAST stitch–Pekinese stitch.  That didn’t work out at all, but it did get me started.  And now I have it finished.  As a piece of art it leaves a lot to be desired, but it does tell my story.  The funny thing is that it is no longer my dream, but my response to the dream.  I call it “Dive In.”

It has taken me a year to learn not what the dream was telling me, but what my response will be.

“Dive In” has a base of hand painted cottons layered with batik and poly organzas then stitched with pearl cotton.

This entry was posted in art journal. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dream Journal

  1. Rachel says:

    It’s interesting, isn’t it, that sometimes the original idea doesn’t work out but does at least get the ideas flowing. Worth the wait, I feel!

Leave a Reply

