Pekinese Stitch

Week 33 of Take a Stitch Tuesday:  Pekinese stitch

An easy to work two part stitch, this week’s stitch looks like a fancy braid.  I’ve used it as line in my latest prayer flag.

The stitch is composed of a row of backstitch, here in lime green, and then a series of loops threaded through each stitch doubled back once each cycle, shown here in blue green.

The stitch turns curves beautifully.  Not many stitches do that as well.  I’ve used my favorite pearl cotton #5 on batik fabric.

This entry was posted in embroidery. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pekinese Stitch

  1. Laurel says:

    This looks so fun!

  2. Cy says:

    Fabulous design. Love this stitch on your prayer flag.

  3. Anneliese says:

    I love to see you as highlight!

  4. Beth says:

    Such a good use of this stitch!

  5. Ann says:

    Beautiful stitching and image!

  6. Rachel says:

    It’s a great stitch, and changing the tension of the loops can create a host of new textures, so there’s always more to do with it, as well.

  7. Julie says:

    That perle cotton #5 looks awesome! I am still learning about all the different threads! I didn’t really like the stands that can separate (like in my practice stitches) for the loopy part, so I used a thread that does not separate in the one I did for flower petals! I think your hand looks very perfect and well made. I am taking notice of what you are making and using, as I learn! Thanks! I just posted my attempt on my blog @ http://asucculentlife.blogspot.com/2012/08/tast-pekinese-stitch.html
    Have a great day! Julie

Leave a Reply

