Algerian Eye Stitch

This week’s Take a Stitch Tuesday challenge stitch is Algerian eye stitch.  This challenge has been a great motivation for me to keep a steady  stream of stitching going every week.  It’s been a chance to play and experiment with unfamiliar stitches.  Algerian eye stitch was an unfamiliar stitch for me.  Not now.  I had an interesting time with it.

The linen fabric I chose is loosely woven.  It is also very uneven in the weave and thread.  That made for some interesting stitching, but I like the large center holes that pulled up so nicely.  In the end, my sample has a kind of flower garden look that I really do like.  Now I’ll have to figure out what to do with it.

This entry was posted in embroidery. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Algerian Eye Stitch

  1. It might make a pretty box top. I agree it does look like a flower garden – maybe cover the base of the box in pink or green satin?

  2. eclecticlamb says:

    Beautiful! I really like the large holes.

  3. very much like a flower garden – very pretty!

  4. Laurel says:

    This is simply lovely!

  5. Beth says:

    Pink and green, one of my favorite color combinations. Nice job! Maybe the cover for a needle case?

Leave a Reply

