Up and Down Buttonhole Stitch

I seem to be making a habit of finishing my Take a Stitch Tuesday stitch of the week at the last minute.  I have had a busy week with my sewing camp going on every afternoon in addition to everything else in daily life.  If it weren’t for Sharon on pintangle and this challenge, I’m not sure I would have done any stitching this week at all.  Enough of excuses, I have a sample of Up and Down buttonhole stitch to share.  Like the last few in the challenge, this stitch is one I’d seen before, but never used.  Once again I was surprised at the versatility of the stitch.  A whole range of different looks can be achieved by making small changes in size and position of the stitch.  As I was playing around with needle and thread on my doodle cloth, a snake appeared.  I was immediately captivated and made him the subject of my sample.

The dark blue-green edge to the stream is closest to what is shown in my stitch dictionary.

The grass is a simple variation with longer legs and a bit of angle between them.

The water changes in direction with every  stitch.  And the snake is stitched similarly to the grass with a second row of stitches made to mirror the first row, the points of the stitch legs touching. The legs form triangle and diamond shapes that change size where the snake bends.

My snake is stitched on a silk upholstery sample in pearl cotton and cotton floss.  I don’t really like the look of the grass in relation to the piece.  I don’t think it adds to the composition, but I left it in since this is a sample of the stitch and it is another variation.  As a whole, I do love my snake.  The question now is what to do with it.

On a different subject, I’ve got a picture of my basket from the class yesterday.  I had to include it because this is probably the first time I’ve so quickly finished a class project.  It’s a small basket and was not too hard to do.  We were given a choice of coiled or knotted basket.  I chose knotted because I had done a coiled one a very long time ago.  This one is nothing beautiful or magnificent, but I enjoyed the process.  Even when I doubt I’ll ever do another one, I know the information that I learned either directly or indirectly will shape my art in some way or another.  I have a few feet of the rope left.  Just enough to try again with the coiled type–maybe a free form shape?

This entry was posted in embroidery, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Up and Down Buttonhole Stitch

  1. Up-and-down buttonhole is one of my very favourite stitches – I’ve been so glad to see TAST introducing it to so many people!

  2. Jeannette says:

    Your snake and variety of up/down buttonhole stitches looks terrific! Your basket looks fabulous too!

Leave a Reply

