Knotted Cretan Stitch

I am slow this week with the Take a Stitch Tuesday challenge!  Too many other things to distract me:  beautiful weather, garden to harvest, fresh vegetables to prepare and eat, books to read while swinging in my patio swing.  I’ve tried taking my embroidery outside to enjoy nature while I stitch, but I keep dropping and losing needles in the flower bed below the swing.  And that is not something I want to tell my gardener (husband) about.  He has a fear of needles.  Nothing strikes more fear into his heart than hearing that I’ve lost a needle in the carpet.  I can’t imagine what he would say to a rusty needle in the grass.  So for the sake of marital harmony, I confine my stitching to indoors.

This week’s stitch is Knotted Cretan Stitch.  I’ve done plenty of plain cretan before, but not the knotted variety, so this was a welcome new stitch for me to learn.  I do like the extra texture that the knot provides to the thread.  The stitch seems a natural fit for my loose, organic style.

This little prayer flag combines the week’s stitch with french knots and running stitch.

The stitch seems to work best when the legs are kept short.  Longer legs have a tendency to twist.  I don’t mind, however.  And I’ve used the purple sari silk ribbon in yet another project.  I have a ball of red silk ribbon, too, that I’m dying to use, but haven’t found the right spot for yet.

This entry was posted in embroidery. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Knotted Cretan Stitch

  1. Rachel says:

    It looks like an interesting stitch to try. I’m enjoying following TAST, even if I don’t manage to do it myself!

  2. ullabritt says:

    Gillar dina kretastygn. Oväntat.

    Avundas trädgårdsväder. Vi har den lägsta junitemperaturen på 84 år i Stockholm nu.

Leave a Reply

