Butterfly Chain Stitch

This week’s Take a Stitch Tuesday challenge stitch is a composite stitch that I have never done before.  It is called butterfly chain stitch.    I’ve worked a few rows in a variety of novelty threads.  The first pass of stitching is groups of three straight stitches.  Then a second pass of stitching works a twisted chain stitch around the grouping of straight stitches without piercing the foundation fabric except at the beginning and end of the row.

Sad to say, I do not find it to be a very compelling stitch.  Or perhaps it is that I can’t see it relating to the work I usually do.  I do like the undulating lines of my sample, though.

This entry was posted in embroidery. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Butterfly Chain Stitch

  1. jizee6687 says:

    looks great. thanks for sharing

  2. You do not like the stitch very much, but still I think there are possibilities here. Your work is inspiring to me!

  3. Queeniepatch says:

    I think that is really attractive.

  4. Perhaps if you played with the spacing of the three straight stitches, you might find something interesting in it?

Leave a Reply

