Satin Stitch

This week’s Take a Stitch Tuesday challenge stitch is one I have used many times on my dolls’ faces.  It’s been a while since I’ve stitched a face in satin stitch, but I figured now was a good time to make a new one.  It has taken me nearly the whole week to get it done.  The weather was beautiful this afternoon, so I brought my things outside and stitched on the patio swing.

She was inspired by the same face as two of the running stitch faces I had already stitched.  I was trying for a mosaic look with those two and thought I could do a different mosaic look with satin stitch.  I drew up this preliminary sketch a couple of years ago.

Kind of scary in a regal sort of way.  She has a very intense look about her.  I’m glad I was finally able to bring her to being.  I wonder how long she will wait now for a body.

This entry was posted in embroidery. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Satin Stitch

  1. I love the idea of sitting stitching on a swing! She’s certainly a striking girl.

    • It’s a swing my dad built from my maternal grandfather’s design. It has a foot platform to pump so actually it is a glider. In the evening, my husband and I sit out and enjoy the garden.

  2. Jeannette says:

    Your satin stitch face looks fabulous! Very nicely done 🙂

  3. lridolfi says:

    This face is striking! I love the idea and color scheme, and it’s beautifully executed.

  4. lridolfi says:

    This face is gorgeous. I love the idea and the color scheme.

  5. debbiesther says:

    I like this stitching, Lucy! A colorful face is so creative. I love your use of color.

Leave a Reply

