A Stitch a Day

Instead of a new stitch for the Take a Stitch Tuesday challenge, this week we stitchers were invited to share our thoughts on how we find time to stitch every day.  How I wished I stitched every day.  I am sure I would be much happier if I did!

I do find time to stitch nearly every day even if only for a very short while.  The best way to make that happen for me is to have one or more projects going all the time and to have what I need organized and ready to work on.  I keep stitching tools by my chair in the family room.  This is where I keep my hubby company at night when he watches TV.  Since the kids have moved off, it’s just the two of us and can get kind of quiet at night.  The stitching could be embroidery or hand sewing or anything by hand really.  I like to try lots of new things. This is often my time for simple experimentation with the needle.

I’ve got a lap board to support my hands and hold the small lamp.  My dad made this for me a long time ago and it has been very useful to have.  I keep it by the side of the chair when not in use.  A basket on the hearth holds all the necessary tools and keeps them very handy.  I have a stack of books to the side.  These are usually the newest ones in my collection that are waiting to be read.  On the top is my sketchbook.  It is small and easy to tote around with me.  My zipper bag of drawing implements is in the basket with the other tools.

In my sewing studio, I keep plastic shoe bins in one area just for new projects.  They may contain actual projects that I have started and put away for later or they may be filled with nothing but fabrics that I think look good together.

Whenever I am ready to begin something new, I look to this shelf first to see if I am inspired by one of my boxes.  Here is a peak at what’s inside two of the boxes.

On the left, is a collection of elegant and sumptuous fabrics.  I have been trying to find a good way to use that beaded bodice scrap for quite a while.  All the other fabrics had been chosen to compliment that fragment.  Right now I am playing with an idea for a new doll using these fabrics.  I’ve been invited to participate in the In Celebration of the Doll show held in Houston at the International Quilt Festival.  This will be my fifth year in this show.  The show is the first week of November so I have plenty of time to work out the particulars.  After the wedding I’ll have more time.

On the other side is another little girl doll that I have begun.  She will be part of the series that I began last year.  She will have a pinafore with monkeys on it.  I don’t have any need to get her done soon.  I just liked the monkey fabric.  Once again, I’ll have time to finish her after the wedding.

Honestly, the one thing that has kept me stitching lately is the same thing that has made my extra time for stitching scarce—The Wedding!

This entry was posted in cloth doll, embroidery. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Stitch a Day

  1. Ria says:

    That lap board is such an awesome idea! I think I might have to look into getting something like that for myself; I can see a million and one ways in which it would come in handy!

  2. Pingback: Lady Go-Go | playfulstitching

Leave a Reply

