Another Retro Look

As promised, I have a picture of me in a 1950’s dress.  I love this dress.  It’s almost what I need for Alison’s wedding.

The fit is not perfect and it has a stain on the front bodice.  But what I love about it is how the kimono sleeves and the midriff band give the dress a smooth classic shape.  The bodice also has an interesting gusset insert.  It’s not a traditional gusset.  This one goes all the way from the midriff band to the sleeve edge.   As soon as I saw this dress, I knew I had to make one just like it for myself.   And what better opportunity than now with a Mother of the Bride dress to be made.  Reproducing this design is my latest project and so far, it is working out well.

This entry was posted in clothing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another Retro Look

  1. ladyfleur says:

    I love the colors and the cut too. Vintage, but fresh. A rare combination.

  2. Mosaic Magpie says:

    You have found the perfect dress to reproduce into a Mother of the Bride dress. It has such nice lines and seems to be a classic beauty. Will you take the dress apart and use it for the pattern?

Leave a Reply

