More Church Banners

I’ve been making more banners for First United Methodist Church in Tell City, Indiana.  The first set that I made in the fall were for ordinary time.  These new ones are for Lent and Advent.  Thorns in the Desert

Lenten Cross

Advent Stars

Advent Candles

The biggest challenge for these banners is in finding a variety of purple fabrics from light to dark.  I wanted red-violet for Lent and blue-violet for Advent.  Once again I had to add a wash of paint to slightly alter the color of a couple of the fabrics.  Overall, I am pleased with the fabrics.  The last Lent and Advent banners I made were much duller in color.  These fabrics make the stars and flames seem to glow.

They have been packed and shipped and are off to their new home.

On a different note, I am thrilled to say that my Chevron Stitch Zebra was chosen as a highlight and featured on Sharon B’s blog, pintangle.   Thanks, Sharon!

This entry was posted in church banners. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to More Church Banners

  1. Carol says:

    The vivid clear colors are perfect. I know the church will love them!

  2. pleasanthillumc says:

    Do you make stoles?

  3. Roxanne says:

    Beautiful

  4. Laura Lipe says:

    I love your banners. I, too, make banners for my church. What do you put inside the banners? Anything? Or do you just line them with like fabric? I’d appreciate if you could email me at lipe2@citcom.net. Thanks so much! Smiles, Laura

  5. Ruth says:

    Wow !
    Your banners are gorgeous! Do you sell the patterns ?
    Would love to make some for our church
    Ruth
    rtcwalkin1@cinci.rr.com

    • Sorry, no I don’t. I don’t use a set pattern either. They are all done free-form, composed as I go on my living room floor. Few pencil lines, if any. I just cut straight into the fabric as I work.

  6. Sue says:

    The banners are beautiful. I’m getting ready to make advent banners for my church. I’m going for a deconstructed look and am debating fabrics. What fabrics did you use with these?

    • Mostly, they are quilting fabrics. I also added some gold lame, but some of the fabrics I used had flecks of gold in the prints. Since I fuse the fabric in place, I make sure all of the fabrics can take the heat. Lame needs careful handling in this case.

      • Sue Mueller says:

        I keep coming back to admire your work. I’m getting ready to do banners for Ordinary Time using sari ribbons and quilt fabric. How do you finish the edges and do you use a pole pocket for hanging?

      • Since the banners are fused with a heavy duty fusible, the edges don’t need a finish other than a smooth cutting. I’m not sure how all the churches have hung them. My own church uses a pole. I put a 4″ sleeve on the back at the top. The hanging is up to them.I love sari ribbon. I bet that will be beautiful!

        Date: Wed, 13 May 2015 00:50:58 +0000 To: lucy_landry@hotmail.com

  7. Joyce Telford says:

    Can you tell me where you got the material from please

  8. Catherine Klaseus Neve says:

    I really like your banners! Thank you for sharing them!

  9. Maureen says:

    Do you sell your banners?

  10. Naomi says:

    I love seeing your banners. I make banners, paraments, stoles and chausibles for our church. Love seeing new ideas.

Leave a Reply

