Goldenrod Embroidered Box

Today may be January, but you’d never know it by the weather we’ve been having.  Even for Baton Rouge, it is unseasonably warm at 74.  It was a gorgeous day with a vibrant blue sky.  Kind of makes me think of spring.  What I’ve been working on and just finished is a bit of autumn.

A small trinket box with goldenrod flowers embroidered on the top.  The bright yellow-gold blossoms that line the highways and fill the fields in autumn are one of my favorite wildflowers.

At our last doll club meeting, we exchanged gift bags for Christmas.  My gift from Carol was a kit for this cute little box.

Carol’s sketch was perfect (she has a series of wildflowers native to our area.)  The instructions were easy to follow and the embroidery was quick and fun.  I used pages from a 1940’s New Orleans phone book to cover the box.  They were rather yellowed so I rubbed on a white glaze.  A bit of varnish and the box was done.  In the end I decided against the lace.  I’ll save that for another project.

Notice the advertisement on the bottom of the box?  It is for a restaurant in New Orleans that I’ve never heard of before: The Southern Marigold.  I thought it would be an appropriate addition to the box.

 

This entry was posted in doll club, embroidery. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Goldenrod Embroidered Box

  1. Carol says:

    Your goldenrod box is too cute and beautifully executed. I am so glad you like it. The “mother” inspiration wall hanging is now at the Bluebonnet Swamp getting ready for the fiber arts show!

Leave a Reply

