Santa’s Workshop part II

One of the toys in my therapy bag at work that I love is a small sack of crayon rocks.  The rocks are sized perfectly to elicit a good pinch/grasp to develop little finger muscles.  And they come in a little cloth drawstring bag.  My students all love them too.  What child wouldn’t want their own?

I decided to try out a process to make some colorful treasure rocks for my grand nieces.  It’s pretty simple.  The hardest part is peeling the paper off of the broken crayons.  A while back, I had bought a bag of crayons for cheep at a garage sale.

Sorting them out was fun.  Notice the scarcity of blues?  I seem to recall Martha using this color for an art project.

I’ve broken the chosen colors and piled them into the mold.  For these, I used an extra mini muffin pan.

On the top row, I’ve got a black and white stripe combo—that’s a zebra.  The orange and black one is a tiger.

Next they go in the oven at 200 for around 8-10 minutes.  I had to keep a close watch to make sure they didn’t go too long.  If they get too hot, the wax separates from the pigment and floats on top leaving a messed up layer.  If they don’t heat enough, the fusion isn’t complete and they may break apart.

The zebra has become a cow!  But the tiger is still tigerish.

I had to rearrange the crayons into “jungle animals” and “farm animals.  I’ll get a couple of drawing pads for Maggie and Caroline to draw on and they will be ready to wrap.

Recognize the drawstring bag fabric?  It’s scraps from Kiki’s and Maisie’s dresses.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

