Play Day

My friends Lisa and Susan and I got together for our monthly play date.  The day’s agenda was to create something using stuff in our stash.  So we’ve made all this wonderful stuff and it was time to see if we could put some of it to work.

This is a face that Lisa painted in a class long ago.  She liked how it went with a piece of “wipe-up” fabric that my daughter Alison had painted this spring when she was home and painting fabric.

Susan was playing with stacks of silk, but didn’t get past that point.

My inspiration was a bag of yo-yos that a friend in the doll club gave me.  I liked the way they looked on the silk fusion that the three of us made last month at Lisa’s house.  That was an improvement because I really didn’t like my fusion at all.  Pulled together with a piece of discharge dyed fabric from another play day and more of Alison’s hand dyes, it seemed to kind of work.

A few stitches with metallic embroidery floss and the yo-yos were secured.  My dad made me a stretcher bar frame and I stapled it on.  This was fast and fun but I like working in 3D better.

This entry was posted in play day, silk fusion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

