Mirror, Mirror, Tell Me No Lies

Finally, she is done.  And just in time before school starts up again.  My first day back at work in the school system was Monday.  Students started on Wednesday, but my first school visits were today, Thursday.  I work part time as an Occupational Therapist with  special needs children.  This year I have three schools that I will travel to and it looks to be a busy year for me again.  I had a fabulous summer vacation, and I am so ready to get back to work.

Mirror, Mirror, Tell Me No Lies was created for the Treasures of the Gypsy Challenge 2011–The Renaissance Gypsy.  She along with the other entries will be on display in Houston at the International Quilt Festival.  Two years ago, my doll won best of show so I’m not expecting a win again, but it is exciting to see my work on display in a prominent venue.

Here is Mirror, Mirror in all her shining glory.  I just love all the shisha mirrors and stitching on her skirt.  Her headdress proved to be quite interesting to create.  I was afraid that it would be a struggle to draft the pattern, but it came out just right.  With the help of a set of large turning tubes, the cording on the ridge of the headdress slipped right into place.  The uncovered cording is inserted into the tube as the fabric is turned and it is pulled inside as it all turns.  A miracle.

At 18″, she is bigger than my usual doll.  My work is kind of in flux these days.  I don’t know if I have a usual doll any more.  All I know is that I like being different.  I like for my art to be different, too, but maybe not too different.

This entry was posted in applique, cloth doll, embroidery. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mirror, Mirror, Tell Me No Lies

  1. Beth says:

    Lucy, she is gorgeous! The face, the costuming, the pose, I love it all! Hope you win! I have just purchased some shisha mirrors and have been inspired! Bethx

    • Thank you. I bought a wonderful used book at a book sale that was just on shisha mirror stitching. There were 10 different methods of stitching them on. I used three of them on this doll!

  2. Mary Ann says:

    She’s wonderful…I love her pose:)

  3. Pingback: Lady Go-Go | playfulstitching

Leave a Reply

