Applique fun

It is past time for me to get to work on my doll entry for the Treasures of the Gypsy Challenge.  The theme this year is “The Renaissance Gypsy.”  Without getting too literal with either the gypsy part or the renaissance theme, I got inspired by the gorgeous gold border bands on the cotton fabrics that I have.  One came from the challenge package and the other was one I bought from Treasures of the Gypsy booth last year in Houston.  They are the base of my color scheme which is orange/yellow gold/magenta.  I have plans to embellish her skirt heavily, but what I have done first is her face, because isn’t that always the first thing to do on a doll?

I opted for applique similar to those faces on my Red Swamp Maple Spirits.  I love the bright colors.  Tiny bits of stuffing inserted under the little pieces help to give her face dimension.  Don’t you just love her “crown?”  Of course the dolls are so useful as pincushions themselves when you are sewing on them.  And of course I have to play around with the pins  when I am stitching.  Don’t worry, she will get a full headdress and maybe hair before she is finished.  I think she needs some pupils too.  What do you think?

This entry was posted in applique, cloth doll. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Applique fun

  1. Burton says:

    It is so much fun watching your colorful creations come to life

  2. nita butler says:

    Hi Lucy! Love your blog! The doll you are woking on is going tobe fantastic. I adore her face!
    Cannot wait to see the finished dollie!!!!

Leave a Reply

