Paper Collage

My fiber arts group Contemporary Fiber Artists of Louisiana held their quarterly meeting on Sunday.  The program was all about mixed media collage.  We got to make an 8×10 collage on poster board using a selection of papers, fabric, and fibers.  I opted for paper and no fabric.  I was really pleased with my collage, but it wasn’t finished.

collage of papers with cotton bolls and fibers

I played around with the idea of making a paper doll out of it and this is what I ended up with–three figures.  On my work table right now there are three embroidered faces that I am using for an upcoming show in July called A Gathering of Untold Stories.  They seemed to be a perfect match for the collage so I scanned and printed the images onto paper and glued them on for the faces.  Tracy Bautista calls this re-use of your own art “leveraging.”  I decided against adding limbs; they are simple rectangles.  A few more embellishments on each one and they were done.  The blue felt is a piece that I wet felted a few weeks ago.  I had no idea what I was going to do with it, but I liked it.  The big question is what will I do with the paper dolls?  Should I affix them to the felt?  Should I attach the whole thing to a stretched canvas to hang on the wall?  Or just leave the men out to fondle and play with?

nomads

This entry was posted in felt, paper doll, spirit figure. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

